Shame on NBC!

Have you been watching the Olympics? For someone who doesn’t otherwise watch television, it’s always a bit of a culture shock to have it blaring for hours every evening during the Games while I knit frantically on whatever I’m doing for Ravelympics er… the Ravellenic Games. It’s tough not to be moved by so many people who have put so much heart and soul into something they love, and I’m the probably rare American who can root loudly for athletes wearing something other than those weird Ralph Lauren sweaters Team USA was sporting at the opening ceremony. Show heart and have a great back story, and I don’t much care where you were born; I love heart wherever I see it. However, I digress…

What shocked me this past evening was the editorial presented by Bob Costas – that one about the Ukraine. It started out sounding like a good human interest piece, but it disintegrated into a political attack on Russia and Vladimir Putin. No, I’m not wearing blinders regarding the political situation, but there is a time and place for everything, and this was neither. In the opening ceremonies, there was a clear and distinct call from the International Olympic Committee to keep politics out of the Games. For these 16 days and within this venue, the plea was to let the focus be only on the incredible skills of this worldwide gathering of champions.  Much to the shame of Bob Costas, as well as NBC for allowing it, that line was more than crossed, and in prime time programming.

I’m thankful to live in a country that allows freedom of speech, but having that freedom doesn’t negate the need to be honorable. Where is the honor in the primary voice this fortnight of the Olympics in the USA bashing the host country within the confines of the broadcast of the Olympic Games? Would he, being invited into someone’s home for dinner, boldly diss the host during dessert? There are just things honor doesn’t allow, and Friday night, Costas crossed that line. Shame on you, Bob Costas, and shame on NBC!

Published in: on February 22, 2014 at 7:58 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://facefromthepast.wordpress.com/2014/02/22/shame-on-nbc/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yes I agree – I watched every day too at night- I never loved the Olympics more for some reason -after many years of ballroom dance I now know how hard they work to get where they are and that money prevents many more form getting there also- but they are fascinating to watch!!!!! Date: Sat, 22 Feb 2014 07:58:14 +0000 To: dancethechacha@hotmail.com

  2. I didn’t end up watching the Olympics–or even participating in the Ravelympics/Ravellenics this year–partly because I was so burned out by the USOC thing 2 years ago and then all the political stuff around these games. I feel sorry for the athletes–I think they spend their entire lives aiming for the games, and the games don’t really seem to be about the athletes anymore.


Leave a comment