Fiber Art

I guess I about overdosed on fiber this week. Thursday was good for another high with the arrival of a Knit Picks order and a package of hand dyed roving. Maybe it was just the yarn fumes, but before I knew it, I’d grabbed my camera and was acting somewhat like a new grandma!

Knit Picks Order Feb 21

Anything you see in that photo that looks remotely like another new pair of socks to make is purely a figment of your imagination.

(May I uncross my fingers now?)

Essential Meteor Twist

This stuff is so yummy I had to take a portrait. It’s their Essential You-know-what Yarn in the Meteor Twist colorway, which they’ve just discontinued. Glad I got some. It’s going to make a great pair of s***s, and there will probably be some left over for doll clothes.

Alpaca Cloud Moss

And this is Alpaca Cloud, which is laceweight baby alpaca – illegally soft and destined to become a shawl or some such thing. I love the moss color with all the subtle shadings.

Palette Blur

Yes, I know this is out of focus. I just love all the color, so I took a picture of that instead of the yarn that provided it. These are the discontinued colors in Palette. I’m a little shocked to see what they axed, and will be watching for the new releases with concern. How could they dump plain red?

In addition to my Knit Picks yarns and needles, there was the most marvelous package of merino from Freckle Face Fibers (on Etsy). This was aptly named “Renaissance” and the color combination is just unreal. Since I couldn’t just sit down and spin it, but couldn’t stop looking at it either, I did some “fiber art.” I’ve narrowed it down to six pix, but can’t begin to choose a favorite.

Renaissance 1 Renaissance 2 Renaissance 3

Renaissance 4 Renaissance 5 Renaissance 6

Hovering over the photos will give you a picture number. Feel free to leave your vote in the comments. I’m saving this beauty until I feel very confident spinning!


Published in: on February 23, 2008 at 11:59 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://facefromthepast.wordpress.com/2008/02/23/fiber-art/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. hi,
    I am addicted to scrapbooking. I document just about everything my kids do or have done, either in photos or journaling

  2. Hi!
    Thank you for leaving my first comment! I love scrapbooking, too, but I’ve been away so much that I’ve not done any since last spring. I no longer have a good place to work on scrapbooks in my house, but I have plans to create a studio that will give me space for that and some other things I enjoy doing. It’s going to be a big project, though!


Leave a Reply

