Short, but Very Sweet!

It is finished!

Victorian Lace Capelet

(Shawl Pin by Pam Nelson)

I haven’t yet blocked it, but the knitting is done and the join is grafted on my Lady’s Circular Cape from Victorian Lace Today by Jane Sowerby. (Original pattern published in Weldon’s Practical Knitter in 1886.) The last stitches actually went in during the wee hours of Monday morning, and would have been much sooner had I not run out of yarn. Sylvia, a fellow Raveler, came to my rescue, sending me the leftovers from her own project, which was, amazingly enough, even the same dye lot! My capelet is made from Knit Picks’ Shadow (100% Merino) in the discontinued Campfire colorway, so when I ran out of yarn, it was all I could do to not panic. It seems to be common for the yarn suggestions to be a bit short on the patterns from this book. This particular garment calls for 1200 yds, and I bought 1320, so thought I would be safe. I love this book with a passion, but from now on, I’m going to overshoot a good bit when planning projects from it. I might not be so blessed the next time around, and this much lace would be an awful lot of work to frog.

Final feelings about this pattern are that it was very easy, but it’s big enough to be very time consuming. I didn’t get a good feel as to how long the body took, but the 146 points on the edging, once I memorized the pattern, were taking me 15 minutes each. With no mistakes to fix, that would be 36.5 hours right there, so the biggest challenge on this pattern, in my opinion, is just sticking with it until it’s finished.

My next challenge is going to be to figure out how to block this piece…

So anyway, let me know what you think.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://facefromthepast.wordpress.com/2008/04/01/short-but-very-sweet/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It’s lovely and will be Amazing when blocked (isn’t blocking a minor miracle?)! I’m like you too – buy more yarn than it calls for. I’d rather have leftovers than not enough. Wear it in good health!

  2. Thank you so much, Sue! :o) Yes, blocking reminds me of a baby chick coming out of an egg. An egg on its own is a rather amazing and fascinating item if you really think about it, but then to have it turn into a little bird… I love every moment of my lace, but that metamorphosis that occurs during blocking is grand!

  3. De-De the caplet is amazing. I started a black lace shawl and have not stayed with it. Now seeing your beautiful work, I’m going to get mine out and get going on it.

  4. Shirley, thank you for the compliment. If I’ve inspired you to complete your project, I’m quite honored! I’d love to hear from you when it is finished.

  5. It’s beautiful!

    I have the book and really want to knit it! But I have one problem: I don’t understand the first step of the pattern, when you cast on 60 stitches, but row one looks like I should cast on an additional 6 stitches on either side of the pattern repeat?

    Can you give me some advice? Thanks a bunch!

  6. Thanks, Angela! I’ll try to explain, but if you still don’t get it, please tell me! There is a six stitch border along each edge, but those are worked on the first and last six stitches you cast on. Each pattern repeat uses just four of the cast on stitches, and the repeat is worked twelve times. There are some increases happening in each repeat from the start. So, you work the six border (garter) stitches, place a marker, work the first repeat (involves four stitches but results in five), place a marker, on across the row until you have six stitches left at the end. Then work the other garter edge. And please do yourself the favor of using good markers after every repeat. You’ll be very glad you did. Have fun, and let me know how it goes!

  7. I think I see what you’re telling me, so I will give it a shot with some “scratch” yarn to make sure I can get the pattern down. I’ll write again if I’m still stumped. Thanks a bunch!

  8. My pleasure! I’d love to hear how it goes for you, and hope to eventually see your finished capelet!


Leave a Reply

