Sweet & Sour

I don’ t have time to write more than a brief entry right now, but I had to put something up! I’ve been working at the somewhat gruesome task of saving all the photo stories I entrusted to Epson over the last few years. If you don’t know, they are closing their album site at the end of the month, and bless their hearts anyway, they chose not to set up a deal with anyone else to transfer the pictures. This means that I’m having to save each photo back to my computer after enlarging it on Epson’s site, then upload it to my new site – which is actually plural, as I’m trying to avoid the headache of having to deal with this sort of situation again, at least any time in the very near future. Of course, both new sites have totally different formats, not only from each other, but also from Epson. Once I get the photos where I want them, then I have to copy the captions over. They are posted at both sites, and I’m also emailing them to two different web hosted email accounts. I just really don’t want to lose this stuff, but the price I’m paying is hours of time and the risk of going totally loony before I’m finished. I do think I’m getting over the learning curve, so the process is speeding up. However, I’d much rather be knitting than redoing a task that was a pleasure to do spread out over several years, and a nightmare to rush through.

So anyway, in the midst of this irritating task today, I got a phone call that gave me enough adrenalin to transfer another entire album. My offer to teach beginner’s knitting classes has been accepted! I was almost afraid to hope, but now I can start making firm plans – and in fact, must make them quickly so I can quote a price on class kits. I’m so full of ideas that it will be difficult to narrow them down to a perfect 4 week course, but since I have to be employed in a somewhat brainless task, thanks to Epson, I’m sure it won’t take me too many days.

I’m so excited… I just can’t hide it… Yippee!!!

Published in: on April 4, 2008 at 8:59 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://facefromthepast.wordpress.com/2008/04/04/sweet-sour/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Congratulations!!!! I didn’t learn to knit from a class, so I’ll be interested to see what you put together for the class. You’re getting new recruits! How many do you think we need before we can get our own lobbyist? 🙂

    And a big fat raspberry to Epson!!!

  2. I’m self-taught, too, so won’t have any ghosts of former teachers haunting my methods. It could definitely be interesting! I’ll keep you all updated. As for recruits, you saw through me on that one. ;o) I don’t know anyone around here who knits, so I thought I might be able to create some knitting buddies. Now, about that lobbyist… Hmmm…

    I’m up to double raspberries for Epson at the moment…


Leave a Reply

