What I Learned New Today

Just a short write tonight. I have lots to share, but it needs to wait. However, I couldn’t resist sharing what I made this evening at the Dayton Knitting Guild meeting. We had a mini class in felted embellishments, taught by Esther Bechler. This is an entirely new realm for me. Although I’ve messed around with some needlefelting, somehow I’d missed this concept, and I certainly did not realize just how unlimited the options are. I would have liked to have had longer to play, but I’m still quite pleased with the way my sample came out.

(Click to enlarge)

The rose is felted from Merino 5 yarn, and the stem and leaf are from roving. I think this took me about 15 minutes or so to produce.

I would have assumed that wool, alpaca, and such would be the only acceptable fibers to use, and that it would have to be worked onto a wool base, but Esther has very successfully embellished with silk, soysilk, and even cotton, onto silk, polar fleece, and even denim – and she had the projects there this evening, so I saw the unbelievable with my own eyes! This definitely bears more exploration on my part. If you visit her site via the link I gave above, go to the gallery and check out some of her painterly pieces in the purse section. She’s still building the site, so many of my favorite pieces are yet to be posted. She was wearing a lovely silk blouse tonight, purchase for a couple dollars at Goodwill, then embellished with soysilk to make it a beautiful, one of a kind piece of wearable art. My mind is definitely whirring a bit!

Published in: on April 22, 2008 at 9:08 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://facefromthepast.wordpress.com/2008/04/22/what-i-learned-new-today/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Cute! And something fast in knitting!!! I never would have believed it! I’m going to have to give it a go.

  2. Toni, I’d love to hear how your experiments turn out. I seem to have more ideas than I have time to bring them to fruition right now, so I’d be quite happy to have the vicarious pleasure of seeing what someone else does with it.


Leave a Reply

