I Hit 50!

And she’s excited? I hear you starting to mumble about me having lost a few marbles in the last week or so. However, it’s only because you are jumping to conclusions. My “50” isn’t in regard to age; it’s how many books I’ve read so far this year. The last couple of months, I’ve been wondering if I can actually read 100 in a year, and I’m obviously a bit off the pace. I’d likely have been right on track, but I found a big stack of totally delightful Reader’s Digest magazines from the mid 90’s and read them all, and they don’t go on my book list. I’m also just starting my 4th super thick Diana Gabaldon book this year, which definitely affects the title total… I do have to say that, although I knew I read a lot, this is the first time since I was in school that I’ve actually logged it, and I’ve rather surprised myself. If you are incredibly curious as to what I’ve read this year (great, lousy, and otherwise), there’s a link to my books read so far in my sidebar.

An amusing side note to all this literary input is that I just won my third prize in the adult level of the summer reading program at the library. First I got a huge shopping tote (should be grand for yarn shopping!), then some comb honey, and today I received a game called Quiddler, which I’d never seen before, but it looks right up my alley, beings as it’s a word game. I’m feeling a little guilty about all the loot, but loving it, as I’ve never been the sort of person who actually won things. DH and I are debating as to whether anyone else over the age of 12 in our town is reading this summer, to be quite honest…

Published in: on August 5, 2008 at 10:35 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://facefromthepast.wordpress.com/2008/08/05/i-hit-50/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Haha, congrats! And don’t worry there is still plenty of time left in 2008! Good luck!

  2. Thanks, Darcy, for both the congrats and the encouragement. :o) I’m having a lot of fun with it. It’s bringing back memories of the thousands upon thousands of pages I read during my middle school years – a habit that had my fellow classmates quite annoyed when we handed in our reading lists at the end of each term. One unforgettable fortnight, I read Gone With the Wind the first week and followed it up with Uncle Tom’s Cabin the next!


Leave a Reply

