Ravelympics Day 5 Update

The day long awaited! I pulled out all the pins (Turns out there were actually only 167.) and put my Pretty as a Peacock Shawl around my shoulders for the first time. This definitely deserves a special outfit to wear under it and at least one formal night on a cruise ship! Happily, my young friend down the street was home this evening and willing to serve as a model, so with no further ado… (drumroll…)

My Peacock!

As always, pix should enlarge with a click.

I have to confess to being exceedingly fond of this shawl. It’s soft, floaty, and utterly gorgeous, and at this point in my life, definitely has magnum opus status. Jae Koscierzynski’s pattern was super, and the actual knitting took me about 5 weeks. (We won’t talk about the nearly 4 months it took for me to get ends darned and the thing blocked…) It’s worked with Cherry Tree Hill SuperSock Merino wool yarn, colors absolutely perfect for this project. I loved working with the yarn, as its tight twist gave me good definition and made my work easy to see. However, I am sorry to say that despite loving knitting with this stuff, I’m extremely disappointed with it now that I’ve done the finishing work. As soon as it hit body temperature water, it started bleeding – and not just a little bit. It turned the water very deep indigo. When several more rinses failed to show a decrease in the amount of dye loss, I tried a vinegar rinse. That water came up clear, so assuming the problem was arrested, I got one more pan of cool water to rinse some of the vinegar smell from the shawl. Much to my amazement, the clean water went indigo instantly, and two more rinses did the same. I tried a second vinegar rinse, this time allowing it to sit for about 10 minutes and with more vinegar than the first time. When I lifted it out, the water was crystal clear, so I went with plain water again – and immediately had inky water. I wouldn’t have believed it had I not seen it myself, and I had absolutely no idea what to do at that point, so squeezed it out by hand and blocked it like that. However, I have to say that I’m no longer very interested in using the rest of my Cherry Tree Hill, unless someone can provide me with some answers about dealing with the massive bleeding I encountered. Thankfully, I was doing this by hand, but if I’d used it for socks or a sweater and put it in the wash, I’d have had a real mess. This is definitely not the sort of problem I would have expected out of a company with the reputation they have, either, and I’m really disappointed.

But I still love my shawl. :o) And here’s my gold medal for this event:

That’s two now – far behind Michael Phelps, but I’m still in the game. I took another project off the needles tonight, and it’s drying – not quite photo time, but not far. Since I had the photo shoot with the shawl and a mess of errands and email today, I only did the last of the knitting and finishing work on that project and a half dozen rows on my Chenille Throw today – but tomorrow…

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://facefromthepast.wordpress.com/2008/08/13/ravelympics-day-5-update/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Whoo hoo!!!!! It looks wonderful!!!!

  2. It’s gorgeous! I would contact Cherry Tree Hill and let them know about the dye problem you encountered.

  3. Your shawl is simply lovely! But I’ve worked with CTH several times and never run into a dye problem, though I’ve run into the same thing from time to time with indie dyers. Maybe that one lot of yarn had excess dye in the bath. I would just earmark that one project as a “handwash by itself only” and keep going. You’re doing beautiful work. Congrats!

  4. Thank you one and all for you lovely compliments. :o) It’s still close at hand and I’m petting it whenever I walk by. The cats are starting to get jealous, I think…

    I’m glad to hear that not all CTH has a bleeding problem. I’ll definitely test the rest of my skeins before I knit anything, though. I just checked and found they do have a contact phone number online, so will give them a call and see what they have to say.


Leave a Reply

