About the Right Wing

No, this is not what you are thinking it is! Despite my rather decided political opinions, I’m not one to blog about same. The right wing that I’m talking about right now is the last of the shawls to which I promised an introduction a few posts back. I have a few minutes and thought perhaps I could sneak in a post real quick. Otherwise it’s going to be done the first time it’s in here!

This shawl is the product of a knit along hostessed by Schoolhouse Press. Amy Detjen designed this lovely and unusually constructed project, calling it the Pansy Shawl. Since I have a tremendous weakness for violets, which share the shape of pansies, though in miniature, and because I’m knitting mine in linen yarn with spring in mind, I’ve titled my project “Spring Violets.” Amy’s put several delightful twists into the project, introducing me to sideways shawl construction, centered eyelets, and the incredible fun of working short rows in lace. I love watching the pattern as it seems to magically materialize in the center back section of the shawl, and am having a tremendous lot of fun with the project. Despite the new techniques, I’m finding this to be a very relaxing and enjoyable knit, and I could easily picture wanting to make another sometime as a gift perhaps.

Swatched, but...

Swatched, but...

So, I’d almost talked myself out of joining this KAL, but at the critical moment, I found Euroflax millends for $2 per skein, and in lavender, of all things. I couldn’t resist at that point, and I bought 12 skeins, hoping it would be sufficient. I’ve knitted several outfits for the Bleues using Euroflax, and had promised myself something from it as soon as I could afford it. The knots here and there are small price to pay for the bargain I got with millends. I swatched it and loved the fabric I got, but I was also really concerned that I wasn’t going to have enough yarn if I made the fabric as dense as the swatch, so I changed needles to knit much looser. Now that I’m past halfway, I find I was so far off in that thought as to be depressing, but I’m also not of a mind to frog the whole thing and have a do-over, so loose it will stay. It’s not awful at my current gauge, but I do wonder if it’s not going to stretch something fierce when I wear it.

So, the right wing business is because the shawl begins by casting on at the right “cuff” for lack of a better term, and is then knit sideways, increasing until the right wing is as big as desired for the first half of the project. Then the knitter chooses how broad the inverted V-shaped wedge in the back should be, and once that is completed, knits the left wing of the shawl back to the fingertips, producing a Faroese shaped shawl from a totally new angle.

This would be my right wing – a photo taken last week, which would look better had I slipped in some blocking wires, I think. It would also be improved if the cable were long enough to spread the stitches, but I like working more compactly. I’m unquestionably looking forward to getting far enough down the other side that I can actually spread it out.

The pattern is clear and easy to follow, and it has substantial latitude for personalizing the size. In fact, this could be knit from nearly any yarn you choose, and at the gauge of your liking quite easily. More than a few people in the KAL are using unspun for their yarn, and they are getting wonderful, wintery results, totally different from my spring-like project. I think this would make a lovely Christmas gift if you are looking for an easy, but very attractive shawl to make for someone you love.

Wedge pix coming soon!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://facefromthepast.wordpress.com/2008/10/28/about-the-right-wing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is just exquisite! I LOVE the color and the pattern. Point me to the pattern please. Nancy

  2. I’ve put a live link to the pattern back at the beginning of the second paragraph of this post. I believe it will continue to be available until at least the first of the year. Have fun! It’s a great knit!


Leave a Reply

