Yep, Still Remodeling…

I’ve been receiving queries about how the remodeling is or is not progressing, and I guess it has been a good while since I’ve posted any sort of an update. I keep hoping for something truly exciting to report, but there is so much going on around here that it’s more baby steps than strides. DH isn’t as inspired this year either. However, there are some definite positives since my last report.

We’ll start in my sewing room…

Mantle with plinths

I actually finished the mantle last fall, but we weren’t able to get it into the house until this summer. The project isn’t entirely finished, but I have to confess I’m really loving the look so far! I’ll do a full post when everything is done, as there are a number of details I want to share. Right now, the next step involves me and a bench grinder. No comment about how exciting that is… See, I bought some antique fireplace tiles on ebay, and was somewhat ripped off due in part to my naivety in the matter, and part due to the seller… What should have been an over abundance of tiles turned out to be not quite enough, as part of them had been dipped in acid to remove the mortar from the back. This procedure did a fantastic job on the mortar, but  apparently also dulled the surface. That maybe wouldn’t have been awful if they all looked alike, but the others had shiny faces and tons of mortar. Only the shiny ones were numerous enough for the project, so now I’m having the “joy” of turning this:

Sewing Room tiles pregrind

into this:

Sewing Room Tiles postgrind

And it’s a reeeeeeeally boring process! All I can say is that this had better look utterly fantastic when I’m done!!!

I’ve also managed to squeeze in some painting time, at last finishing the high shelves in my sewing room. This is an outdoor project, and it has to be worked around the weather, mowing neighbors, evening mosquito time, and DH filling the air with sawdust. Somehow, though, I did manage it, and they are up and waiting for the curing time to run out so I can reload them – and mark one more big step off the list. 🙂 They look so nice that I keep popping into the room just to admire them.

High Shelves 003_renamed_13295

And just as a reminder as to why this makes me so happy, I started out with paneling, black brackets, and bare wood shelves. Look a little better than before?

Sewing room register 011

I will just skip the laundry room, which has gone nowhere since the last section of tile was laid in the spring. The next set involves a hole for the drain, and that doesn’t seem to be happening. I’ll say no more…

The nook is plodding, but happening. It’s not moving anywhere near the speed it did last year, but positive things are happening nonetheless. Last fall saw the completion of all the DVD drawers, but work stopped short of building the enclosure to hold them. That was the first woodworking DH did this summer. Now it’s my turn, and there is a ton of painting to do! Good thing is that if I work on just a piece or two at a time, I can do that inside, so I won’t be hampered by the same constraints that slowed the shelves. Now it’s just a matter of squeezing the project into my schedule when I can.

Alex Graduation 016

Next part of the nook is to build the little cabinet where the TV will sit. The bottom portion will house the spare office supplies – a desperately needed space for which I’m exceedingly eager! The outer cabinet is done, and currently DH is working on the drawers, which are on heavy duty pull outs to handle the weight of paper reams and such. I gave up trying to get pix without cats, as this has proven to be a favorite installation for them. Tyg was extremely unhappy when I started painting it. The odor wasn’t to his liking. He’s taken to sitting on a box about two feet away from it, staring rather forlornly. He’s not going to appreciate the rest of the drawers being added either, I don’t suppose…

Secret Sister July 003

Tyg – official inspector of anything shaped like a box. He used to have the prettiest face of all our kitties, but his dreadful habit of constantly rubbing and marking has worn the fur off his nose – not a good look.

Tyg in nook drawers_renamed_8016

I guess this passes inspection…

Secret Sister 004

Tyg’s sister, Doodle, disagreed with him. She’s sure this is her private bath chamber. I’ve spared you the bathing beauty pix and shared wild cat instead.

Tyg - if there's a will

Adding the drawers didn’t change Tyg’s opinion. He still loves “his” cave… and I’m trying not to feel too guilty about giving him the boot…

And much to my discredit, I’ve yet to paint my new studio doors from last summer, so nothing to show there.

So that’s it on the world’s slowest remodeling projects for now. Anyone want to guess when one of these will actually be finished?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://facefromthepast.wordpress.com/2009/08/22/806/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

