One Leap Forward!

I’m  currently on a bit of a high! I just now finished grinding the fireplace tiles for my mantle project in the sewing room, and I’m so, so, so, SO glad to be done with it! It was a noisy, dusty, boring job that just went on and on and on. Hubby and I have to share the outdoor workspace, and I have been deferring to him because what he’s been doing is more critical over all to our  projects. With so much rain this summer, me not being able to work outside when people are mowing, and the numerous other things that have been claiming my time, I just hadn’t been squeezing in time for more than a tile here and there. Now that it’s October, the weather is reminding me that it won’t be long until we have to shut down all the outdoor projects until next spring, and I really don’t want that to happen before I finish this one big outdoor project I still have to do right now. Today’s sunny mid 50’s temperatures coincided with Hubby being away from home for the day. I have a lot of work to do before I teach knitting classes on Monday, but I decided I would take a “few minutes” to go grind more tiles. Once I got going, I started thinking about a whole winter waiting to finish, and before long, I convinced myself that I just might be able to get through all the rest. Now my back and head ache from the racket and standing so long in one position, but I’m ecstatic to be done!

Next step will be to transfer the tiles to another surface and thoroughly clean them and the backer board. Then I get the nerve wracking project of gluing them in place, and the easy project of grouting. I’m looking forward to sharing a finished project, hopefully very soon!

Now I shall go dancing through the rest of my evening with a big grin on my face! 😀

Published in: on October 10, 2009 at 11:01 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://facefromthepast.wordpress.com/2009/10/10/one-leap-forward/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

