I Want a Fiber Studio for Christmas

This evening a friend introduced me to I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas, and it took me about 10 seconds to know precisely what my own “hippopotamus” was. Consider this a little Christmas gift to all of you. Enjoy!

I Want a Fiber Studio for Christmas
© De-De Heeter 2009

I want a fiber studio for Christmas.
Only a fiber studio will do.
No diamond ring.
Nothing from Dior.
I want to card and spin and knit and weave and felt and more!

I want a fiber studio for Christmas.
Hubby surely won’t mind that at all.
He won’t have to fight
The noisy, crowded mall.
Just grab a hammer, nails, lumber, and his favorite saw.

I can see me now on Christmas morning, creeping out the door.
Oh, what joy and what surprise when I open up my eyes
To see a furnished studio standing there.

I want a fiber studio for Christmas.
Only a fiber studio will do.
Eight harness loom,
Kromski spinning wheel,
A tri-loom and a carder and a felt machine – surreal!
And a cupboard full of qiviut fiber, too!

All I’d need’s a bed, and dinner catered in,
And I’d walk in and never have to walk back out again!

There’s lots of room for one, if we fill in the pool.
I’d throw a shuttle, hook a rug, ply handspun made of wool!

I can see me now on Christmas morning, creeping out the door.
Oh what joy and what surprise when I open up my eyes
To see a furnished studio standing there.

I want a fiber studio for Christmas.
Only a fiber studio will do.
Schnact warping mill,
Walnut Woolee Winder,
English combs, an inkle loom, Tom’s spindles, and dye pot.
And a cupboard full of qiviut fiber, too!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://facefromthepast.wordpress.com/2009/12/18/i-want-a-fiber-studio-for-christmas/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love it De-De. I think I want one too!

  2. LOVE IT!!! you are way too talented!!

  3. De-De, that is the most delightful little ditty!!!!
    Thank you for sharing it with us… now I can express my big wish in a tangible and most lyrical way! LOL!

  4. Well at least an inkle loom should be within reach. I used to build ’em from 3/4″ dowels and 5/4″ fir that the lumber yard sold as “porch stepping”, back around 1970. A table saw and a drill press are helpful, but hand woodworking tools would be adequate.

    My eraser-carver friend Raven posted the link to you on FB.

  5. I love it! I think I’ll have this song stuck in my head all day now-thanks 😛

    Maybe I can sing it enough so my DH will have to build me one too, just to shut me up!

    Merry Christmas and hugs,
    Terry


Leave a Reply

