Ravelympics? Yes!

Anyone who has been following my blog for a while and who is also on Ravelry is probably wondering why I’ve said nothing about the Ravelympics this year. Last time around, I finished 18 UFO’s in 17 days, and I was posting constantly with the latest finished project. This year? Not a peep! That’s because I’ve been putting in anywhere from 10 to 16 hours a day knitting, and in the week leading up to to the big event, I was spending hours charting, planning and swatching for my project. Actually, my Ravelympics project is nearly the only thing I’ve done for the past two and a half weeks, and I’m definitely ready for it to be done! As much as I love knitting, 3 solid weeks of “eat, sleep, knit” on the same project under pressure, has taken a bit of a toll. Besides, my thumb split open about a week ago from doing so much purling with the cotton blend yarn.

I’ve entered the Designer Biathlon – with a little bit of a shove from a dear friend who offered to test knit if I’d take the plunge. I think we are both totally daft, but that’s beside the point! What a project to knit this whole thing and publish a finished pattern during the Olympics! I don’t want to give anything away quite yet, but I will say that it’s a children’s item, and I did take a teaser photo of it the other night, puddled inside out for a few minutes while I ran off to take care of a rather necessary task…

Since I don’t do business related things on Sunday, I have another project going, too. My older daughter asked if I wouldn’t please make her a pair of thick, squishy socks with lots of color, and when she was  home on furlough, she picked out some Lorna’s Lace Shepherd’s Wool, worsted weight, Watercolor colorway. I figured it would be no problem to finish these with three Sundays available, but I neglected to think about all the tasks that were being ignored during the rest of the week – like the hundreds of emails that arrive whether I’m opening my inbox or not, washing my hair, doing laundry… So, barring some really strange sort of a miracle, I don’t think this one will be done by midnight Sunday. Regardless, it has been really nice to have something totally different to work on one day each week!

I have an “accidental” Ravelympics project, too, but since it’s finished already, I’m going to wait until I receive my medal to share it all at once. Besides, I have to get back to work. I  have an awful lot to do before my Sweetheart Lovey is finished!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://facefromthepast.wordpress.com/2010/02/26/ravelympics-yes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

