Totally Infatuated

I just finished the second pair of socks for my daughter, and I’m so totally in love with them that I couldn’t give them to anyone else in the world but her, I don’t think. I have to get another skein of this yarn. I want to make a slightly smaller pair for myself very badly! Although I’ve not made that many pairs of socks, this is undoubtedly my very favorite of what I’ve done. I have to keep reminding myself that it would be tacky to wear them before I had them over to her. 😉

Like the first pair, these are knit from Lorna’s Laces Shepherd’s Wool, which is a worsted weight yarn. (Ravelry calls it aran.) This gorgeous colorway is darker and richer in person, but I’ve still not gained control over my new camera to the point of getting true colors in most of my pix, especially when it’s gray and spring drizzly outdoors. I used the Purple Iris colorway, and it’s gorgeous! It took about 1.35 skeins to make these, but she has 10.25″ feet with a 9.5″ midfoot, so not small socks. The pattern is again from Cat Bordhi’s New Pathways for Sock Knitters. I was going to just use  the Riverbed Master pattern, then succumbed to Rushing Rivulets – a slight variation to Riverbed, in that Cat provides a very simple lace pattern to work on the instep. This is not a pattern for someone who can’t read their knitting! To begin, the lace is worked on the original half of the stitches that form the instep, but the increases on this pattern are on the sole, and as they are worked, the original sole stitches begin to become instep stitches, though they remain on the sole needle. It’s important to keep track of how many stitches belong on the sole and to expand the lace on each side, wrapping it around as it’s knit – all this while also keeping track of which rows receive increases. It’s not impossible, but not good first pattern, either. I found it well worth the effort in the end, though!

Other pattern notes… I used the standard toe, but put the increases two stitches in from the edge instead of just one. The heel is Eye of Partridge. I finished with about an inch of 2 x 2 ribbing and Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretchy Bind-off. I did one thing slightly different this time, and it made things substantially easier – thankfully! On the other pair, when I reached the ribbing, I was ready to tear my hair out in frustration. I can generally managed two socks on two circs without much problem from tangling, but no matter what I did on these, I seemed to have a bird’s nest of cables and yarn on every single round in the ribbing. The only thing I could figure is that it had something to do with the last stitch one one side being a purl and the first on the other being a knit. This time, when I reached the ribbing, I started with K1, then went to P2, K2, ending each side with K1 – in other words, just shifting the start of the ribbing by one stitch. It worked perfectly smoothly – not a single tangle – so it was a good move on my part. 🙂

Oh, and here’s the Ravelry link if you need it.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://facefromthepast.wordpress.com/2010/03/11/totally-infatuated/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I absolutely loooove those socks you made for your daughter. You just can’t buy anything like that. You must make a pair for yourself – everyone who sees them will be so envious.

    I have been fascinated with your snow dying process. It has been very interesting and the colours that that came out were fantastic.


Leave a Reply

