Goals Post – March/April 2010

I still don’t have time to do the post I wanted to do regarding Honduras, but noting that it’s the end of April already, and I’ve not posted anything this week, I thought I’d take a few minutes and do a goals post – this time covering two months, since I couldn’t post at the end of March. Actually, all things considered, I’m doing amazingly well! Of course, if all things did NOT have to be considered, I suppose I’d be doing even better, but I’m not about to give up that month of service in Honduras just to make it easier to reach my annual goals. The virus I might be willing to trade in, but not that trip. 😉

Through March and April, I again did not touch my miniature goals, haven’t started a weaving project, worked on a single bit of the remodeling, or touched several other things on the list. I have to not look at those – and remember that I DO have another two thirds of a year to go. 😉 What I HAVE done though is not shabby! Although she’s not finished, I did spend enough time to make good progress on my spinning wheel. Although I have a long way to go to feel competent, I’ve also spun creditably on a spinning wheel – but more on that later. Technically, though, that would mean that I can consider one item finished – Learn to spin on a spinning wheel. 🙂

Although Honduras was brutal on my knitting in general, the one true project I took along got finished, and it qualifies for one of my goals. I’m knitting two pairs of socks minimum for myself this year, one toe up and the other top down. My toe ups are finished – twins (only a bit smaller) to my daughter’s Rushing Rivulets. Having fewer stitches on the needles made the pattern play differently, so all the things I thought I was so smart to have figured out in that regard ended up having to be re-figured. Add knitting mostly by memory and on those sawed off needles, and they were a much bigger project than I’d expected!

I’ve worked briefly on my photo organization, stashed a very few yarns, kept up with my weekly music and language sessions (these two being a shoo-in while in Honduras, and daily instead of weekly!), and also thanks to Honduras, I’ve had a lot of practice with my camera and learned a few new tricks in the process. Just wish I’d taken my manual along, as photo opportunities abounded, and it would have been a great place to play with so many of those mysterious new settings I don’t comprehend. Of course, with some leniency counted for the difficulty of getting written posts online while in Honduras, I managed to keep up with at least weekly blog posts, too. I can recite all four of my Bible verses for the year, and I got a bonus in learning 13 consecutive verses in John in Spanish while I was away, too, for a total of 17 this year. I’ve been lazy about Bible memory for so long that that accomplishment feels very good!

I’m a little behind on my book reading – just 30, when I need to have 33 or so by now, but I have to say that I’m glad to have even that many, and it’s not that much to catch up, especially if the back half of the year tames down a wee bit. (Hah!) Another behind project is the “debt free” goal. I was doing so well paring down that credit card bill, but these past two months have been somewhat brutal on it, starting with buying plane tix and having to shut down my stores for a while, not to mention not being able to teach this spring because of being gone, and going downhill from there. It’s going to take some time and a lot of effort to catch up, but pattern sales have been a steady trickle of income, for which I’m extremely grateful! The other area where I’d made such great progress early in the year was my email. Needless to say, that suffered a debilitating setback when I wasn’t able to tend it for a month. I’m wondering how long it’s going to be before I can catch that back up! 😦 The good news on the continuing battle front list, I decided to save for last. Apparently I worked off more calories than I ate in Honduras, despite my tortilla addiction, and I not only held steady on my weight, but I’ve lost 3 more pounds! I’m ecstatic over that!

And… my “go someplace new” goal is going to be met in high fashion. We ARE going to go to Alaska this year – YIPPEE!!!

So, that’s it for two whole months – lots of baby steps forward, a few slips back, and a couple of completed or partially completed annual goals. Add to that the fact that in the past month I also fulfilled 3 Life List goals – going on a short term mission trip, milking a cow, and spinning on a spinning wheel –  and I think that, exhausted or not, I have good reason to smile!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://facefromthepast.wordpress.com/2010/05/03/goals-post-marchapril-2010/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

