Finally Finished!

I guess it really didn’t take so long, but it felt like forever. There are so many things on my to do list now, that even the items that take just a half hour to finish seem like I’ll never complete them. Besides, I was in SUCH a hurry to see this done. I’m not disappointed!

I knit this to wear on our cruise on formal nights. I’m not much into glitz and glimmer, but one has to dress up if one wishes to eat in the main dining room on formal nights. My concession this trip was to knit a lace shrug from Kraemer Silk and Silver, figuring that sterling silver twisted into silk yarn should count for at least something on the glamor scale. 😉 I enjoyed working with the yarn a lot, and although it doesn’t show well in photos, the finished fabric has a delightful “diamond dust” sort of twinkle to it. I absolutely love it!

The pattern is Liz Lovick’s Hexagon Shrug, and it was a delight from start to finish. It fits beautifully and feels great to wear. I’m already positive I’ll be making another, but with more of a daily wear sort of yarn. It’s surprisingly cozy, and when I slipped it on in an air conditioning draft, it was just the perfect touch. My biggest pick is that shrugs are tough to block, and despite having tried to avoid it, I ended up with little “ears” where I went from straight to curved along the back edge – sort of like hanger marks on sweater shoulders.

I did make a small change to the pattern when I knit the cuffs. I narrowed them much more sharply than Liz wrote the pattern. In row one of the cuff, I decreased 2 in every 5 stitches, knit row 2, decreased 2 of every 5 in row 3, knit row 4, and then spread decreases through row 5 that resulted in a total of 60 stitches on the needle for the rest of the cuff. This fit me perfectly, and I really like the way it looks. If you make this pattern, you might want to put in a lifeline at the end of the lace and experiment until you find the perfect balance for your own size and arm measurement.

This is the third pattern of Liz’s that I’ve knit, and I continue to be very pleased with her work. Not only does she put together attractive, knitable projects with timeless appeal, but she sizes her garments to fit an extremely wide range of builds. Thanks, Liz!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://facefromthepast.wordpress.com/2010/06/07/finally-finished/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Getting caught up…

    The shrug is very attractive. How would you rate the difficulty level?

  2. I found it to be an easy knit for me, so I’d say anyone with previous successful lace experience should be able to handle it.


Leave a Reply

